Medicaid Waiver

What do you mean by "needs based" when referring to being placed on a waiver?
"Needs-based" refers to meeting the eligibility and/or priority criteria that are required for that waiver's services.
What do you mean by "emergency placement" Can you please define "emergency?"
Emergency is defined as a situation in which the health and welfare of an individual is threatened, and alternative placement in a supervised group living setting is not available or is determined by the division to be an inappropriate option.

Eligible individual in other setting whose health and welfare is threatened.
Eligible individuals transitioning to the community from nursing facilities, extensive support needs homes, and state operated facilities.
Eligible individuals determined to no longer need/receive active treatment in group home.
Eligible individuals transitioning from 100% state funded services.
Eligible individuals with loss or incapacitation of the primary caregiver.
Eligible individuals with an aging primary caregiver.
Eligible individuals aging out of Department of Education, Department of Child Services, or Supported Group Living.
Emergency Placement.
Eligible individuals requesting to leave a Large Private Intermediate Care Facilities/Intellectual Disabilities (ICFs/ID).
Eligible individuals transitioning from Crisis Management and meet certain other criteria.
I have been deemed "ineligible" by BDDS, but I have a diagnosis of autism. What should I do?
Individuals meeting the state criteria for a developmental disability and meeting the criteria for an ICF/ID level of care determination are eligible to receive waiver services. "Developmental Disability" means a severe, chronic disability of an individual.

Is attributable to intellectual disability, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, or autism; or
any other condition (other than a sole diagnosis of mental illness) found to be closely related to intellectual disability,
Is manifested before the individual is twenty-two (22) years of age.
Is likely to continue indefinitely.

Results in substantial functional limitations in at least three (3) of the following areas of major life activities:
Understanding and use of language.
Capacity for independent living.

If you have been deemed ineligible as not meeting one of these criteria, you have the right to appeal the decision within 33 calendar days of the date of the notice. Instructions about this process can be found at http://www.in.gov/fssa/ddrs/4312.htm.